Widest travel restrictions in history due to COVID19

Fiji has extended its border restrictions to more countries than it has ever done before in history after it added the United States of America to a list which had China, Italy, Iran, Spain, South Korea, Europe and the United Kingdom.

Foreign nationals from these countries or who have been to those countries within 14 days of their intended travel to Fiji will now be refused entry at our borders.  

The border restriction is part of containment measures after Fiji recorded its first case of COVID19.

Prime Minister Frank Bainimarama made the announcement that the restrictions will be in effect from midnight tonight for an indefinite period of time.

Anyone else who travel to Fiji from other overseas destination must self-quarantine for 14 days.

“Anyone entering Fiji from any overseas destination will be required to self-quarantine for 14 days, meaning they must stay in one place and avoid contact with others or going out in public as much as possible.”

Meanwhile Lautoka, where the first COVID-19 patient is from also goes into lockdown tonight with none of its residents allowed out and everyone else forbidden from going in.

Government has announced it will transport into Lautoka supplies of mostly fresh produce to be sold to its residents.

PM Bainimarama said more containment plans will be announced in the coming days.

Read the PM’s full statement here.

Foodie Night 1327x198 ad(1)
Top Stories