South Africa to host 2022 Sevens Rugby World Cup

The 2022 Rugby World Cup Sevens (RWC7s) will be played in South Africa, for the first time in the tournament’s history.

Scheduled for 9-11 September at the Cape Town stadium in Greenpoint, the home of the Cape Town 7s, the tournament will feature 24 men’s and 16 women’s teams.

Fiji men’s are among eight who have automatically qualified for the 2022 tournament based on how they finished in the 2018 RWC7s which include defending champions New Zealand, England, South Africa, Argentina, USA, France and Scotland.

The top four women’s teams from the 2018 RWCS have also secured automatic qualification. These are New Zealand, France, Australia and USA. South Africa.

Among those looking to secure their spots, are the Fijiana 7s team. The side will need to win the Oceania Regional Qualification next year to secure their spot in the 2022 tournament.

World Rugby also announced that the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series will no longer form part of the qualification pathway for Rugby World Cup Sevens. Regional qualification is expected to start in August of this year with further details to be announced at a later stage.

Foodie Night 1327x198 ad(1)
Top Stories