Gollings names Fiji 7s squad for Singapore, Vancouver tourneys

Fiji Airways Fijian 7s Head Coach Ben Gollings has named his 14-man squad for the Singapore and Vancouver tournaments that include four debutants as well as three Olympians including Jerry Tuwai who makes his return to the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series rugby 7s circuit, and this time as co-coach and player after leading the national side to its second gold medal feat at the Tokyo Olympics last year.

Tuwai sat out of the opening leg of the 2021/22 World 7s Series in Dubai in December to get married, and was also not part of the squad for the Spain leg of the circuit in Seville and Malaga in January, which later withdrew days leading up to the tournaments after several players tested positive for COVID-19.

He is joined by fellow Olympians Waisea Nacuqu and Josua Vakurinabili. Nacuqu is also vice-captain for the outing, assisting Tevita Dauguna who has been handed the captaincy role.

The four debutants include Army halfback Pilipo Bukayaro, Fire 7s players Vuiviawa Naduvalo, Tira Wilagi, and Tabadamu’s Josevani Soro.

Regarding the side, coach Ben Gollings said: “I believe it’s a good mix of young and experienced players. We need experienced players as it helps bring the team together and helps develop the inexperience therefore players such as Jerry Tuwai, Josua Vakurinabili, and Waisea Nacuqu have played a vital role in the team.
“Then we got the likes of Pilipo Bukayaro playing at halfback who is been fantastic and really grown in the last few tournaments. Vuiviawa Naduvalo has been brilliant and has developed into an exciting player. Tira Wilagi and Josevani Soro have also been at their best so far.”

The Fiji Airways Fijian 7s team departs for Singapore on Monday, 4 April. The Singapore 7s will be held on the 9-10 April followed by the Vancouver tournament a week later on 17-18 April. 
Fijian 7s squad for Singapore and Vancouver 7s

  1. Josua Vakurinabili
  2. Joseva Talacolo
  3. Jeremaia Matana
  4. Tevita Daugunu {c}
  5. Elia Canakaivata
  6. Iowane Raturaciri
  7. Pilipo Bukayaro
  8. Waisea Nacuqu {v/c}
  9. Jerry Tuwai
  10. Iowane Teba
  11. Kaminieli Rasaku
  12. Vuiviawa Naduvalo
  13. Josevani Soro
  14. Tira Wilagi
Foodie Night 1327x198 ad(1)
Top Stories