Fijiana set up Canada and Great Britain rematch in Dubai

The Fiji 7s men’s team will open their 2022 HSBC World Rugby 7s Series account against France whilst the Fijiana will play Ireland, according to the pools and match schedule announced for the first Emirates Dubai 7s event on 26-27 November.

In the men’s category, Fiji has been grouped in Pool A with Australia, Canada and France whilst the Fijiana find themselves in a tough grouping with Russia. In the mix as well are Canada and Great Britain, both of which will be looking to avenge their defeat to the Fijiana in the recent Tokyo Olympics.

The Fijiana had beaten 2016 Rio Olympics bronze medallists Canada 26-12 in the pool rounds before accounting for Great Britain 21-12 for the bronze medals. Great Britain made their intentions known when they won the pair of women’s ‘fast four’ events in Canada in September.

The Emirates Dubai 7s on 26-27 November will be played behind closed doors and the second, on 3-4 December, will be opened to the public.


New Zealand’s men’s and women’s teams, who won the respective Series titles in 2020, and Samoa’s men’s team are unable to participate in Dubai due to the challenges of the Covid-19 travel logistics.

Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens rescheduled from April to November

Meanwhile due to the ongoing uncertainly surrounding the travel restrictions associated with the global COVID-19 pandemic it has been decided that the Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens originally planned to take place on 1-3 April will be rescheduled to 4-6 November 2022, when it will serve as the opening event of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2023.

Hong Kong will host a second event in the 2023 Series six months later in its traditional April window, doubling the enjoyment of this popular event for fans. World Rugby is considering potential options for a replacement event in the 2022 Series and further information will be shared in due course.


Following the pair of combined men’s and women’s events in Dubai, the Series will move on to Europe as Spain plays host for the first time with combined men’s and women’s events in Malaga and Seville on 21-23 and 28-30 January, 2022 respectively.

The men’s Series continues with North American rounds in Vancouver on 26-27 February and Los Angeles on 5-6 March, followed by Singapore on 9-10 April.

A women’s standalone event will take place in Langford, Canada, on 30 April-1 May before both men’s and women’s teams travel to a new Series venue in Toulouse, France, on 20-22 May where the women’s Series champions will be crowned. The men’s Series concludes with the final event in London on 28-29 May.

Great Britain will participate in the opening two rounds of the Series in Dubai, as part of the standing agreement to play the calendar year 2021, before reverting to compete as national unions for the remainder of the 2022 Series, with England, Scotland and Wales participating in the men’s Series and England in the women’s series.

The 16 men’s core teams after the Dubai events are Argentina, Australia, Canada, England, Fiji, France, Ireland, Japan, Kenya, New Zealand, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, USA and Wales.

The 11 core women’s teams after the Dubai events are Australia, Brazil, Canada, England, Fiji, France, Ireland, New Zealand, Russia, Spain and USA.

Two men’s and one women’s teams will be relegated from the 2022 Series, to ensure a pathway for teams to be promoted from the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series.

Rugby sevens players and fans can look forward to a very busy and exciting year in 2022 with the Series followed by the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham on 29-31 July and concluding with Rugby World Cup Sevens in Cape Town on 9-11 September.

Foodie Night 1327x198 ad(1)
Top Stories