Fijian Drua make nine changes for Hurricanes’ clash

Swire Shipping Fijian Drua Head Coach Mick Byrne has made nine changes to his starting line-up that played Highlanders last week, for the round 12 Super Rugby Pacific clash against the Hurricanes in Wellington this Sunday.

Bryne has brought in Zuriel Togiatama and Saula Tawake to join Haereiti Hetet in the front row. In the second row, he has made three changes, bringing in Isoa Nasilasila and Sorovakatini Tuifagale as the new locks combo with Kitione Salawa promoted from the bench last week to man the flanks alongside skipper Ratu Meli Derenalagi.

Te Cirikidaveta returns to the base of the scrum at No.8.

Bryne has also rung the changes in the halves combo, opting for the pairing of Simione Kuruvoli and Caleb Muntz at scrumhalf and flyhalf respectively. At midfield, Apisalome Vota retains the No.13 jersey, where he is joined by Jona Mataiciwa who replaces Kalaveti Ravovou at inside centre. Kitione Ratu has been called up in place of Vinaya Habosi to run on the wings with Selesitino Ravutaumada.

In the reserves, Tevita Ikanivere (16), Meli Tuni (17), and Manasa Saulo (18) will back up the front row. Chris Minimbi (19) and Raikabula Momoedonu (20) also make the matchday 23 this week, and will provide further impact on the bench along with Leone Nawai (21), Teti Tela (22) and Onisi Ratave (23).

“We’re preparing for a very physical game this week against a very good Hurricanes team,” Byrne said. “The boys are really wanting to get out there this week to show the Wellington crowd and our fans in New Zealand what they can do.”

Round 12 vs Hurricanes

Swire Shipping Fijian Drua Matchday 23

  1. Haereiti Hetet
  2. Zuriel Togiatama
  3. Samuela Tawake
  4. Isoa Nasilasila
  5. Sorovakatini Tuifagalele
  6. Meli Derenalagi (c)
  7. Kitione Salawa
  8. Te Ahiwaru Cirikidaveta
  9. Simione Kuruvoli
  10. Caleb Muntz
  11. Kitione Ratu
  12. Jona Mataiciwa
  13. Apisalome Vota
  14. Selestino Ravutaumada
  15. Kitione Taliga
  1. Tevita Ikanivere
  2. Meli Tuni
  3. Manasa Saulo
  4. Chris Minimbi
  5. Raikabula Momoedonu
  6. Leone Nawai
  7. Teti Tela
  8. Onisi Ratave
Foodie Night 1327x198 ad(1)
Top Stories