Fiji Elections 2022: A coalition government for Fiji

They may be the biggest losers in terms of seats won compared to the previous election in 2018, SODELPA will decide the formation of Fiji’s coalition government following the release of the final 2022 General Election results that sees no party winning outright, bringing with it new faces to the Fijian Parliament, and well as significant losses for other parties.

Having won three seats in this year’s election, 18 down from their previous parliamentary sitting make-up, SODELPA will decide whether Fiji remains with the current administration or pave the way for a new one, at the conclusion of the tallying of the 470,584 valid votes cast from 2071 polling stations that were operational during the country’s election.

At the conclusion of data entry, the four main parties in parliament including FijiFirst had amassed 200,246 votes, People’s Alliance 168,581, NFP 41,830, and SODELPA 24,172 whilst Unity Fiji and Fiji Labour Party missed out after they did not make the 5% threshold although their leaders in Savenaca Narube and Mahendra Chaudhry finished as the 6th and 7th best candidates in terms of vote counts behind Voreqe Bainimarama, Sitiveni Rabuka, Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum, Lynda Tabuya, who is also the leading women candidate for the second consecutive time, and Professor Biman Prasad.

Total votes cast for the 2022 General Election stood at 473,910 of which 3326 were deemed invalid.

Meanwhile, the voter turnout rate based on the total votes cast stands at 68.3 per cent compared to 71.9 per cent in the 2018 election.

Fiji Parliamentary Composition – Based on 2022 Election Results
Viliame Gavoka, Ifereimi Vasu, Aseri Radrodro
Professor Biman Prasad, Lenora Qereqeretabua, Agni Deo Singh, Pio Tikoduaduad, Sashi Kiran
Voreqe Bainimarama, Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum, Parveen Bala, Mahendra Reddy, Hem Chand, Rt Josaia Niudamu, Rinesh Sharma, ALvick Maharah, Rosy Akbar, Vijay Nath, Iowane Naivalurua, Inia Seruiratu, Shalen Kumar, Faiyaz Koya, Premila Kumar, Jone Usamate, Viam Pillay, Sanjay Kirpal, Joseph Nand, Semi Koroilavesau, Ifereimi Waqaimaberte, Viliame Nauporo, Aliki Bia, Naisa Tuinaceva, Mosese Bulitavu
People Alliance:
Sitiveni Rabuka, Lynda Tabuya, Charan Jeath Singh, Filimone Vosarogo, Manoa Kamikamica, Isikeli Tuiwailevu, Iliesa Vanawalu, Siromi Turaga, Rt Atonio Lalabalavu, Jese Saukuru, Rt Rakuita Vakalalabure, Maciu Nalumisa, Jovesa Vocea, Sakiusa Tubuna, Vatimi Rayalu, Ro Filipe Tuisawau, Tomasi Tunabua, Sakiasi Ditoka, Esrom Immanuel, Kalaveti Ravu, Alitia Bainivalu

Foodie Night 1327x198 ad(1)
Top Stories