World Rugby 7s Series back this year, starting May

World Rugby 7s Series returns this year, but in a condensed yet highly impactful format featuring five women’s and four men’s rounds, with the addition of a further two potential men’s events under discussion.

The 2021 Series kicks off with back-to-back women’s events in Marcoussis, Paris on 15-16 and 22-23 May. Hong Kong, Dubai and Cape Town will host joint men’s and women’s events.

The Series will then take a break for the Olympic Games and recommence with a men’s event in Singapore on 29-30 October, followed by joint men’s and women’s rounds in Hong Kong on 5-7 November, Dubai on 3-4 December, and ends in Cape Town on 10-12 December. 

Detailed discussions are continuing with London and Vancouver on the viability of hosting men’s events in the window following the Olympic Games and prior to the HSBC Singapore Sevens in October and further updates to the schedule will be given when available.

World Rugby Sevens Schedule 2021 including Olympic Games

  • Paris Sevens – Marcousis – (Women) 15-16 May and 22-23 May
  • Olympic Rugby Sevens – 26-31 July in Tokyo
  • Canada Sevens (Men) – TBC
  • London Sevens (Men) – TBC
  • Hong Kong Sevens (Men and Women) – 5-7 November
  • Dubai Sevens (Men and Women) – 3-4 December
  • Cape Town Sevens (Men and Women) – 10-12 December

Foodie Night 1327x198 ad(1)
Top Stories