Vanuatu election candidature applications close

Vanuatu (PACNEWS) Feb 10 – Citizens of Vanuatu who want to contest in the 2020 general election have until 4.30pm today to lodge their applications.
Names of successful candidates will be declared by the Electoral Commission on 02 March 2020. Political campaigns will begin on the same date and end on 16 March, 2020 at 12 midnight.
Polling is on 19 March 2020 in all constituencies throughout the country.
By Monday afternoon, applications were still being lodged at the Electoral Office and the Electoral Commission Chairman Martin Tete, said the Commission will be able to disclose the number of all applications coming from throughout the country after 4.30pm today.
Elections history shows in 1998, 261 candidates contested the general elections. In 2002, 257 candidates stood for the GE, in 2004, 235 candidates contested, in 2008, 349 candidates stood, in 2012, 345 contested, during the snap general elections in 2016, 265 candidates contested.
After 4.30pm today, there will be more clarity if the figure is increasing, as the Commission think it may increase for both the urban and rural constituencies.
The budget for the 2020 General Election stands at Vt100 million (US$844,000).
Meanwhile, President of the Graon mo Jastis Pati (GJP), Ralph Regenvanu, has confirmed the names of the 14 candidates contesting for the GJP in the General Election to the Chairman of the Electoral Commission and Principal Electoral Officer.
There are 14 candidates altogether who have been approved to contest the 19 March 2020 general election under the GJP color and logo by the GJP National Executive. These are: Danny Silas — Banks constituency; Alfred Maoh — Santo constituency; Bruno Taliban Milliecon – Luganville constituency; and Uri Warawara — Malo-Aore constituency.
Ephriam Boereve – Pentecost constituency; James Taritiro Bangalakua – Ambae constituency; Philimon Tari – Ambae constituency; Edmond Julun — Malekula constituency; John Sala — Malekula constituency; John Salong — Ambrym constituency; Marcel Yona — Epi constituency; Gillion William — Efate constituency i; Ralph Regenvanu — Port Vila constituency and Andrew Solomon Napuat — Tanna constituency.
The GJP president added no other applicant should be allowed to use the GJP colour and logo.

Foodie Night 1327x198 ad(1)
Top Stories