TSLS Partners with two more NZ Universities

Fiji’s Tertiary Scholarships and Loans Service (TSLS) has signed agreements with with two prominent New Zealand universities, the University of Canterbury and the University of Waikato to sponsor Fijian students through the Fiji Government Overseas scholarship scheme.

The agreements, TSLS Chief Executive Dr. Hasmukh Lal says are intended to ensure that Fijian students receive pastoral care, learning support, and overall support for their wellbeing during their studies in New Zealand.

Professor Steven Ratuva, a Fijian-born distinguished professor and Pro Vice-Chancellor Pacific at the University of Canterbury underlined the university’s commitment to looking after Fijian students and creating a conducive study environment for Pacific students.

Vice-Chancellor of the University of Waikato Professor Neil Quigley highlighted the development of new programs, including a nursing program, to cater to the needs of Fijian students in priority areas.

“Fiji Government via the TSLS will sponsor students at the University of Waikato after signing the LOA,” Dr Lal said. “Students will be given scholarships in national priority areas, not offered in Fiji. I thank the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Waikato and his team for the escalated focused approach as part of global agreement.”

TSLS already has arrangements with other New Zealand universities, including the University of Auckland, Auckland University of Technology, and Massey University. In the future, Masters and Ph.D. research scholarships will be offered for New Zealand-based universities.

Foodie Night 1327x198 ad(1)
Top Stories