Three Fijians named in Wallabies squad for July test series

Wallabies coach Dave Rennie has named three Fijians including Isi Naisarani in a powerful 38-member squad for their 3-Test series against France next month.

Marika Koroibete and Filipo Daugunu have been named in the backs while Naisarani makes a return to the forwards’ in his first time back in the Wallabies jumper since his debut in the 2019 Rugby Championship.

Suliasi Vunivalu has been ruled out due to a long-term leg injury sustained in the Reds victory over the Chiefs two weeks ago. Rennie said Vunivalu will return to the squad when he has fully recovered.

Daugunu, Koroibete, and Naisarani were included in the squad after strong seasons for their respective Super Rugby teams.

The squad is captained by Michael Hooper. The Wallabies will play France in a three-test series over 11 days. The first Test is on 7 July in Sydney, the second Tes match is on 13 July in Melbourne, and the third Test match is scheduled for 17 July in Brisbane.

  • Wallabies 38-man squad:
    • Forwards: Michael Hooper (c), Allan Alaalatoa, Angus Bell, Pone Fa’amausili*, Feleti Kaitu’u*, Rob Leota*, Lachlan Lonergan*, Fraser McReight, Isi Naisarani, Brandon Paenga-Amosa, Matt Philip, Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, Scott Sio, James Slipper, Darcy Swain*, Lachie Swinton, Sitaleki Timani, Taniela Tupou, Rob Valetini, Michael Wells*, Harry Wilson
    • Backs: Tom Banks, Filipo Daugunu, Lalakai Foketi*, Jake Gordon, Reece Hodge, Len Ikitau*, Andrew Kellaway*, Marika Koroibete, Noah Lolesio, Tate McDermott, Andy Muirhead*, James O’Connor, Hunter Paisami, Izaia Perese*, Matt To’omua, Nic White, Tom Wright.New Caps *
Foodie Night 1327x198 ad(1)
Top Stories