Super Rugby Pacific structure with Fijian Drua and Moana Pasifika in the mix

New Zealand Rugby General Manager Professional Rugby and High-Performance Chris Lendrum and Rugby Australia CEO Andy Marinos are expecting scintillating matches, skills, talent and equally boisterous crowd support to boost competition level with the confirmation of Fijian Drua and Moana Pasifika in the Super Rugby competition make-up.

Organisers have confirmed the structure of the 2022 Super Rugby Pacific 12-team competition which will kick off on 18 February, culminating in a final on 18 June, well before the July Test window.

The structure is such that each team will play 14 regular season matches with each team to host seven matches, with the top eight teams on the points table qualifying for a three-week playoff format.

Features of the Super Rugby Pacific competition structure are:

– 12 teams (in alphabetical order) – Blues, Brumbies, Chiefs, Crusaders, Fijian Drua, Highlanders, Hurricanes, Melbourne Rebels, Moana Pasifika, NSW Waratahs, Queensland Reds and Western Force

– Teams will play 14 regular season matches with each team to host seven matches

– Teams will play eight teams once and three teams twice with an emphasis on derby matches

– There will be one points table with teams ranked one to 12 based on competition points

– The top eight teams on the points table will qualify for a three-week playoff format

– Quarterfinals will be – 1 v 8, 2 v 7, 3 v 6 and 4 v 5 with the top-ranked team playing at home

– Top-ranked quarter-final winners will host the semi-finals, and the top-ranked winner of the semi-finals will host the final

– 18-week season all completed prior to the July international window

Fiji Rugby CEO John O’Connor expressed gratitude to NZR and RA for the opportunity which will help Rugby House provide professional pathways for local players.

According to the statement, the FRU will announce the venue where the Fijian Drua’s home matches will be played while the Moana Pasifika will play their home matches in New Zealand. They will play each other twice in the first two seasons.

Fixtures proper of the competition “will be announced in the coming weeks.”

Photo: Super Rugby

Foodie Night 1327x198 ad(1)
Top Stories