Samusamuvodre gets run-on debut for Fijian Drua against Tahs

Swire Shipping Fijian Drua Head Coach Mick Byrne has named his line-up for tomorrow’s round 7 home match against the NSW Waratahs at Cbus Super Stadium on the Gold Coast.

Kaliopasi Uluilakelpa (1) reverts to his loosehead prop position this week with Samuela Tawake (3) returning as the run-on tighthead prop. Flying Fijians hooker Mesulame Dolokoto (2) also returns to the starting line-up this week.

The second row sees Isoa Nasilasila (4) return to partner Sorovakatini Tuifagalele (5), Joseva Tamani (6) retains his blindside flanker position while Kitione Salawa (7) has been promoted to starting openside flanker. Captain Nemani Nagusa remains the number 8 loose forward.

Frank Lomani (9) starts at scrumhalf, partnering flyhalf Teti Tela (10) who is on 47 points for this season, making him the second highest points scorer in the competition after 6 rounds.

The centres combination has been changed for this match, with Caleb Muntz (12) starting at inside centre and last week’s try scorer Kalaveti Ravouvou (13) shifting one out to outside centre. Vinaya Habosi (11) starts his seventh consecutive match at left wing, while it’s a run-on debut for Tuidraki Samusamuvodre (14) on the right wing. Kitione Ratu (15) retains his fullback role.

The replacement front row consists of Tevita Ikanivere (16), Haereiti Hetet (17) and Manasa Saulo (18). Other subs include Viliame Rarasea (19) Vilive Miramira (20) and Rusiate Nasove (21), Peni Matawalu (22) and Napolioni Bolaca (23).

Byrne called on fans and supporters to rally behind the team this week: “We are excited to welcome our Southeast Queensland Fijian community to the CBus stadium on Friday night. We are looking forward to a tough game against the Waratahs. After last week, we have prepared well and will bring our physicality to this week’s contest from the kick off. Toso Drua!”

The match kicks off at 6.45pm (local time) on the Gold Coast.

Round 7 vs NSW Waratahs

Swire Shipping Fijian Drua Matchday 23

  1. Kaliopasi Uluilakepa
  2. Mesulame Dolokoto
  3. Samuela Tawake
  4. Isoa Nasilasila
  5. Sorovakatini Tuifagalele
  6. Joseva Tamani
  7. Kitione Salawa
  8. Nemani Nagusa
  9. Frank Lomani
  10. Teti Tela
  11. Vinaya Habosi
  12. Caleb Muntz
  13. Kalaveti Ravouvou
  14. Tuidraki Samusamuvodre
  15. Kitione Ratu
  1. Tevita Ikanivere
  2. Haereiti Hetet
  3. Manasa Saulo
  4. Viliame Rarasea
  • Vilive Miramira
  • Rusiate Nasove
  • Peni Matawalu
  • Napolioni Bolaca

Source: Fijian Drua Press Release

Foodie Night 1327x198 ad(1)
Top Stories