Police Blue top seed in final leg of Super 7s Series

The Fiji Rugby Union (FRU) will host the fourth and final leg of the Super Sevens Series on 12-13 November at ANZ Stadium in Suva with Police Blue leading the charge atop Pool A in which they are grouped with Police White.

Police Blue are favourite to clinch the series title, even if they finish in 14th place in this final tournament. This after having established a comfortable lead at the top of the standings with 66 points, cemented by their undefeated run in the first three legs of the series.

LAR Barbarians and Raiwasa Taveuni who are currently second and third on the standings have a slight chance, but only if Police Blue finishes either 15th or 16th in the tournament, the only two placings that do not amass points.

The tournament will provide Saiasi Fuli who is overseeing both the men’s and women’s programs a chance to not only determine his 13-man squad for the first round of the 2021/22 HSBC World 7s Series in Dubai next month, but also rope in new finds to the extended squad for the remaining tournaments on the forthcoming series.

“With the extended squad players participating in this tournament, we will be able to gauge their fitness capacity, build right combinations, provide the basis of selection and above all they will all get the much-needed game time of 7s rugby,” Fuli said.

Members of the Fiji 7s extended squad will be playing for their own teams during the Suva leg of the Super 7s Series.
FRU Chief Executive John O’Connor said the series served its purpose at the start of the year in giving the players the much needed game time leading up to the Oceania 7s and the Olympics.  

“The Super 7s Series has generated its own interest with local 7s teams, players and fans therefore it was important for us to complete the last leg of the 1st Super Series and acknowledge the Teams and our partners who have assisted in making the series happen. We also intend to continue the momentum into the new Series next year,” O’Connor said.
“We have planned for the last leg to give our players the necessary game time before the Dubai 7s which will be held on the 26-27 November 2021,” OConnor highlighted.

All the core teams which were part of the past three legs have been included.
 The 16 men’s teams have been divided into the following four Pools and the top four finishes during the third leg in Savusavu take charge of each Pool.

Pool APool BPool CPool D
Police BlueWardensArmyTabadamu
StallionsFireEastern SaintsLAR Barbarians
Wadigi SalvoUluinakauDominion
Police WhiteNavyNawakaRatu Felise
Men’s Pool

“We are happy to say that we have included 12 women’s teams for the 4th  leg and we expect stiff competition in the women’s category this time around. There has been huge interest from the Woman’s Team, and we have now included 12 Teams in their competition

The 12 women’s teams have been divided into the following 4 Pools:

Pool APool BPool CPool D
Mt MasadaYasawaLautokaSeahawks
StridersSavusavuValkyriesWaitui Waidroka
ACS Old GirlsArmyPoliceFire Warden
Women’s Pool

The fixtures will be confirmed in due course.

The winner of the men’s and women’s category in the fourth leg will each be presented with the trophy whilst the Men’s Series champions will be awarded the inaugural Super 7s Series trophy and $20,000, the second-placed team will get $10,000 while the third-placed team receives $5000.

The points table after the third leg is outlined in the table below.

Police Blue22222266
LAR Barbarians17151345
Raiwasa Taveuni1917844
Ratu Filise1512431
Wadigi Salvo610521
Eastern Saints161017
Dominion Brothers41712
Macuata Selection0033
Cakaudrove Selection0011
Current Standing
Foodie Night 1327x198 ad(1)
Top Stories