No Pacific team for Aotearoa Super Rugby 2021

The 2021 Aotearoa Super Rugby season will continue with the same format after New Zealand Rugby reportedly declined bids to include a team from the Pacific.

According to New Zealand television broadcaster, Newshub, the NZRU stated that “none [of the Pacific teams] were prepared enough to be added to the fold”, thus retracted its expansion plans, choosing to accommodate the same five-team setup next year.

Expansion plans have been pushed to the 2022 season, which could see up to three new teams added to the playing roster. Among the top four contenders are the Pasifika team, and Fiji Rugby Union’s Fijian Drua.

Photo: Fiji Rugby

Foodie Night 1327x198 ad(1)
Top Stories