Naikore, Rasaku miss out on World Rugby awards

World Rugby Awards’ Fijian Rugby nominees Vitalina Naikore and Kaminieli Rasaku missed out on the respective awards that they were nominated for, but fellow Fijian and Wallabies flyer Marika Koroibete did well, etching his name in the global rugby body’s 15s Dream team of the Year.

Naikore was one of four nominated for the World Rugby Women’s 15s Breakthrough Player of the Year award whilst Rasaku, was for the Seven’s Player of the Year Award.

One of the standout players for the national women’s XVs team in both their victorious Oceania Rugby Women’s Championship campaign and Rugby World Cup debut in New Zealand, Naikore, England’s Maud Muir and Black Ferns’ Maiakawanakaulani Roos were overlooked for Kiwi’s Ruby Tui.

Likewise, Rasaku, Australians Nick Malouf and Corey Toole missed out to Ireland’s Terry Kennedy who also became the first Ireland player to receive the coveted award.

Koroibete on the other hand was named in World Rugby’s Men’s 15s Dream Team of the Year, the only Australian Rugby player to be included in the team at that.

Full list of World Rugby Awards winners

World Rugby Women’s 15s Player of the Year, in partnership with Mastercard – Ruahei Demant (New Zealand)

World Rugby Men’s 15s Player of the Year in partnership with Mastercard – Josh van der Flier (Ireland)

World Rugby Coach of the Year – Wayne Smith (New Zealand Women’s 15s) 

World Rugby Men’s Breakthrough Player of the Year in partnership with Tudor – Ange Capuozzo (Italy)

World Rugby Women’s Breakthrough Player of the Year in partnership with Tudor – Ruby Tui (New Zealand)

World Rugby Men’s Sevens Player of the Year in partnership with HSBC – Terry Kennedy (Ireland)

World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year in partnership with HSBC – Charlotte Caslick (Australia)

World Rugby Referee Award – Tappe Henning (South Africa)

Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service – Dr Farah Palmer (New Zealand)

International Rugby Players Special Merit Award – Bryan Habana (South Africa)

International Rugby Players Men’s Try of the Year – Rodrigo Fernandez (Chile, v USA on 9 July)

International Rugby Players Women’s Try of the Year – Abby Dow (England, v Canada on 5 November)

World Rugby Men’s 15s Dream Team of the Year in partnership with Capgemini

1. Ellis Genge (England) 2. Malcolm Marx (South Africa) 3. Tadhg Furlong (Ireland) 4. Tadhg Beirne (Ireland) 5. Sam Whitelock (New Zealand) 6. Pablo Matera (Argentina) 7. Josh van der Flier (Ireland) 8. Grégory Alldritt (France) 9. Antoine Dupont (France) 10. Johnny Sexton (Ireland) 11. Marika Koroibete (Australia) 12. Damian de Allende (South Africa) 13. Lukhanyo Am (South Africa) 14. Will Jordan (New Zealand) 15. Freddie Steward (England).

Photo: Fiji Rugby

Foodie Night 1327x198 ad(1)
Top Stories