FRU names young squad for Dubai tourney as Tuwai sits out

Olympic gold medallists Josua Vakurinabili and Waisea Nacuqu are among five experienced players named in the Fiji 7s 15-man squad to the 2022 HSBC 7s World Series opening tournament in Dubai in two weeks time.

They will be joined by Kavekini Tabu and Terio Tamani who have some experience playing on the World Sevens circuit, as well as Joseva Talacolo who was part of the Tokyo Olympics extended squad, providing much needed guidance to a squad that will be launching their return to the international 7s arena without Jerry Tuwai.

Tuwai will miss the tour to Dubai as he prepares for his wedding which is set to take place next month.

The squad comprises four players from Raiwasa Taveuni {Jeremaia Matana, Daniele Yaya, Iowane Teba and Iowane Raturaciri}, two from LAR Barbarians {Kaminieli Rasaku and Manueli Maisamoa}, plus one each from Police Blue {Filipe Sauturaga}, Wardens {Tevita Dagunu}, Stallions {Panapasa Qeruqeru} and Army {Elia Canakaivata}.

Of the 15 players, Fiji 7s head coach Saiasi Fuli will select 13 to travel to Dubai.

The Dubai 7s tournaments are scheduled for 27-28 November and 4-5 December.

The Fiji Airways Fijians 7s squad is as follows:

  1. Josua Vakurinabili
  2. Joseva Talacolo
  3. Jeremaia Matana
  4. Kavekini Tabu
  5. Elia Canakaivata
  6. Tevita Dagunu
  7. Daniele Yaya
  8. Terio Tamani
  9. Waisea Nacuqu
  10. Kaminieli Rasaku
  11. Iowane Teba
  12. Filipe Sauturaga
  13. Manueli Maisamoa
  14. Panapasa Qeruqeru
  15. Iowane Raturaciri
Foodie Night 1327x198 ad(1)
Top Stories