Financial Rewards for Fiji 7s Grouped in Tough Paris Sevens Pool

Fiji’s rugby sevens teams will face tough competition at the Olympic Games Paris 2024, with a significant financial incentive on the line.

The pools for both the men’s and women’s rugby sevens competitions have been unveiled, with Fiji set to compete in challenging groups.

Men’s Pools:

  • Pool A: New Zealand, Ireland, Japan, South Africa
  • Pool B: Argentina, Australia, Samoa, Kenya
  • Pool C: France, Fiji, USA, Uruguay

Women’s Pools:

  • Pool A: New Zealand, Fiji, Canada, China
  • Pool B: Australia, Ireland, Great Britain, South Africa
  • Pool C: France, USA, Japan, Brazil

To further motivate the athletes, the Fiji Cabinet has established a medal incentive fund for the 2024 Paris Olympics. Cash rewards will be given to Fiji reps based on their performance, with $50,000 for a gold medal, $20,000 for a silver, and $10,000 for a bronze.

Twelve teams in each competition, determined by recent rankings, will vie for medals at Stade de France from July 24-30, 2024.

Foodie Night 1327x198 ad(1)
Top Stories