Fijian Drua Sponsorship Manager Selected for World Rugby Leadership Programme

Swire Shipping Fijian Drua Sponsorship and Hospitality Manager Lailanie Burnes is among the latest cohort of 25 scholars taking part in a World Rugby leadership programme geared to increase the visibility of women in the sport.

Burnes who has been with the Drua franchise since last season is Fiji’s lone rep in the 2024-25 Capgemini Women in Rugby Leadership Programme that also seeks to accelerate the development of the women and girls’ game ahead of the Women’s Rugby World Cup 2025.

Burnes and her fellow scholars will have access to personalised coaching and training sessions via Capgemini’s internal University to help their professional development. They will also be paired with a mentor assigned by World Rugby as well as a Capgemini coach, and eligible to apply for an additional discretionary grant of up to £5,000 to help aid their development and learning.

Ninety-eight scholars have completed the programme since 2018. 

The 2024-2025 Capgemini Women in Rugby leadership scholars include:

  • Ingrid Sibusisiwe Mangcu (South Africa) – General Manager, Human Resources
  • Nour Khaled (Tunisia) – Women’s Rugby Supervisor
  • Menna Sedky (Egypt) – Women’s Rugby Representative
  • Princess Alban Ugonwaezeh-Agugo (Nigeria) – Board Member and Chair of the Sponsorship and Marketing Committee
  • Ciera Arriola (Guam) – Board Member and Treasurer, Committee Member of Asia Rugby Audit and Risk Committee
  • Chiharu Nakamura (Japan) – Committee Member and General Manager for Nanairo Prism Fukuoka as well as current player for Japan national sevens team
  • Angelina Liu Huiyun (Singapore) – Board Member and Head of Women’s Rugby Development Commission
  • Fouzeya Faridoon (UAE) – Chair of the Gender Balance Committee and Women’s Committee
  • Marissa Lowe (England) – Inclusion and Diversity Officer
  • Jeanne Teillac (France) – Digital & Communication Deputy Director
  • Elena Vallejo López (Spain) – Vice President
  • Anete Skrastina (Latvia) – Secretary General
  • Nina Vistisen (Denmark) – Volunteer, Coordinator Women’s Rugby Development and head coach of Denmark women’s national team
  • Hatice Kübra Yılmaz (Turkey) – International Relations Specialist
  • Harriet Kate Tuara (Cook Islands) – Vice President, Women’s Representative
  • Matilda K. Tigilai (Papua New Guinea) – Member of the Vetting Committee
  • Pauline-Jean Henrietta Luyten (New Zealand) – Co-Chair, New Zealand Rugby Pasifika Advisory Group
  • Fiona Brady (Australia) – Judiciary Officer, Rugby Australia
  • Jamie Burke (USA) – Board of Directors and Member of the Medical Committee, Eligibility Committee, International Athlete Council
  • Rhian Minty (Cayman Islands) – Vice President
  • Paola Rodríguez Escobedo (Mexico) – Senior and Youth Female Development Consultant
  • Danielle Phillips (Barbados) – Director of Women’s Rugby and Council Representative of Women’s Rugby
  • Ursula Alvarez Mandiola (Chile) – Development Officer
  • Ximena Choy Henriquez (Peru) – CEO
Foodie Night 1327x198 ad(1)
Top Stories