Fiji Rugby Among Nominees At World Rugby Awards 2023

FIJI Water Flying Fijians coach Simon Raiwalui headlines the list of Fiji Rugby names among nominees for World Rugby Awards 2023 which will be presented at the Opéra Garnier in Paris this weekend.

Raiwalui who stepped in as Fiji’s coach in February, making an instant impact on the players has been nominated for the Coach of The Year Award. Not only did he guide Fiji to its first RWC quarter-final in 16 years, but  also its first win over Australia in 69 years.

Fiji 7s flyer Reapi Ulunisau who burst onto the scene at Tokyo 2020 is one of the nominees for the Women’s Sevens Player of the Year Award whilst Vinaya Habosi is in the running for the Try of the Year Award.

Habosi’s extraordinary try against Georgia in the RWC2023 made the shortlist.

Other categories being awarded on Sunday, 29 October

  • Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service
  • International Rugby Players Special Merit Award
  • Rugby for All Award
  • World Rugby Referee Award
  • World Rugby Men’s 15s Dream Team of the Year in partnership with Capgemini

Categories awarded following the conclusion of WXV

  • World Rugby Women’s 15s Player of the Year in partnership with Mastercard
  • World Rugby Women’s 15s Dream Team of the Year in partnership with Capgemini
  • World Rugby Women’s 15s Breakthrough Player of the Year in partnership with Tudor
  • International Rugby Players Women’s Try of the Year
Foodie Night 1327x198 ad(1)
Top Stories