All Blacks call up Sowakula in 2022 squad

Chiefs’ Fijian loosie Pita Gus Sowakula has been named in the All Blacks 2022 squad, one of six new players in the 36-man grouping to face Ireland in a three-match series next month.

The 6’5 was named alongside Folau Fakatava, Stephen Perofeta, Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Leicester Fainga’anuku, and Aidan Ross who will be making their first appearance in the All Blacks jersey.

Sowakula, who has been a regular for the Chiefs since 2018 and has been impressive in the 2022 Super Rugby Pacific season, joins Sevu Reece in the 36-man squad.

2022 Steinlager Series

Saturday 2 July
All Blacks vs Ireland, 7.05PM (NZST), Eden Park, AUCKLAND

Saturday 9 July
All Blacks vs Ireland, 7.05PM (NZST), Forsyth Barr Stadium, DUNEDIN

Saturday 16 July
All Blacks vs Ireland, 7.05PM (NZST), Sky Stadium, WELLINGTON

All Blacks 2022 squad is as follows: 
* denotes new cap


Dane Coles (Hurricanes, Wellington)
Codie Taylor (Crusaders, Canterbury)
Samisoni Taukei’aho (Chiefs, Waikato)

Aidan Ross* (Chiefs, Bay of Plenty)
George Bower (Crusaders, Otago)
Nepo Laulala (Blues, Counties Manukau)
Ofa Tuungafasi (Blues, Northland)
Karl Tu’inukuafe (Blues, North Harbour)
Angus Ta’avao (Chiefs, Auckland)

Samuel Whitelock (Crusaders, Canterbury)
Brodie Retallick (Chiefs, Hawkes Bay)
Scott Barrett (Crusaders, Taranaki)
Josh Lord (Chiefs, Taranaki)
Tupou Vaa’i (Chiefs, Taranaki)

Loose Forwards
Pita Gus Sowakula* (Chiefs, Taranaki)
Sam Cane – Captain (Chiefs, Bay of Plenty)
Dalton Papalii (Blues, Counties Manukau)
Ardie Savea (Hurricanes, Wellington)
Akira Ioane (Blues, Auckland)
Hoskins Sotutu (Blues, Counties Manukau)


Folau Fakatava* (Highlanders, Hawkes Bay)
Aaron Smith (Highlanders, Manawatu)
Finlay Christie (Blues, Tasman)

First five-eighths
Stephen Perofeta* (Blues, Taranaki)
Beauden Barrett (Blues, Taranaki)
Richie Mo’unga (Crusaders, Canterbury)

Roger Tuivasa-Sheck* (Blues, Auckland)
Quinn Tupaea (Chiefs, Waikato)
Jack Goodhue (Crusaders, Northland)
Rieko Ioane (Blues, Auckland)
David Havili (Crusaders, Tasman)

Outside backs
Leicester Fainga’anuku* (Crusaders, Tasman)
Jordie Barrett (Hurricanes, Taranaki)
Will Jordan (Crusaders, Tasman)
Caleb Clarke (Blues, Auckland)
Sevu Reece (Crusaders, Tasman)

Photo: Chiefs Rugby

Foodie Night 1327x198 ad(1)
Top Stories