Agatha Ferei-Furivai Chairs Revived Fijian Media Council

Former Executive Director of Fiji Media Watch Agatha Ferei-Furivai, has been appointed as the chair of the revived Fijian Media Council.

The council, last operational before the 2010 Media Industry Development Authority Decree (MIDA) under the previous government led by Voreqe Bainimarama, comprises Inoke Bainimarama, Naina Ragigia, Arshad Daud, Laisa Bale, Marc McElrath, and Shirleen Sahai.

Minister for Communications Manoa Kamikamica said that the diverse FMC composition “allows for a wide range of perspectives and ensures that the Council can have meaningful discussions and make good decisions” in its mission to uphold the highest journalistic standards, protect media independence and freedom, and address public concerns.

“The main goal of the Fiji Media Council is to promote self-regulation and uphold high standards in the media industry. It acts as a platform where people in the media world can talk, work together, and resolve any issues that come up.

The Council is also committed to taking public complaints about media content and ethics seriously, making sure there’s a fair and transparent process for handling concerns,” Kamikamica said.

One of the immediate tasks of the FMC is to create a set of guidelines for media practitioners called a ‘Code of Ethics and Practice’ that underline the importance of accuracy, fairness, and accountability in journalism.

The council also aims to enhance media literacy among the public including the provision of necessary tools to critically engage with media content.

The Coalition Fiji Government, led by Sitiveni Rabuka, repealed the MIDA Act this year following their victory in the 2022 General Election.

Foodie Night 1327x198 ad(1)
Top Stories